Kleinbauernfamilie in Guatemala

Improving livelihoods of farming families in the watershed of the Rio Quiscab

Improving livelihoods of farming families in the watershed of the Rio Quiscab



The Rio Quiscab watershed area, which encompasses the political communities of Sololá, Santa Lucía Utatlán, San José Chacayá, Nahualá, and Barreneché de Totonicapán in the Atitlán highlands, Department of Sololá, Guatemala.

Sustainable water and agriculture, conservation of natural resources, empowerment

Direct: 500 farming families and 50 community representatives
Indirectly: 110,000 other residents of the project area

Asociación Vivamos Mejor Guatemala, Panajachel, Guatemala

The project costs are CHF 689,872. Own and local contributions are not included in the total costs.

2021-2023

Project background

The majority of the indigenous rural population in the Rio Quiscab watershed area in the Sololá department survive off self-sufficient subsistence agriculture. 70% of these farming families are poor. They overexploit their natural resources, water, forest, and soil. As a result of decreasing harvest yields, many farmers burn down areas of forest, but the cleared areas only bring good yields for a few years. In addition, the erosion causes the streams to wash valuable topsoil into Lake Atitlán, which is the largest freshwater reserve in Central America and whose water quality has been impaired as a result. Furthermore, the farmers are also fighting against increasing droughts caused by climate change.

Our approach

We help smallholder families use their land in a way that conserves resources while still improving their yields. They learn sustainable yet more efficient cultivation methods, as well as beekeeping and mushroom cultivation, with which they can generate income and protect the forests. On the other hand, we also raise awareness of resource conservation among broad sections of the population and support the authorities in creating the basis for well-regulated land use planning.

Project goals

To enable farmers in the Rio Quiscab watershed area to use their natural resources sustainably.

  • To raise awareness of environmental protection and resource conservation among the population and to teach them solution strategies for the Rio Quiscab watershed area
  • For farming families to use their natural resources (agricultural land, forest, water, and pasture) sustainably
  • To enable farmer families to earn additional income through beekeeping and mushroom cultivation

Regional approach

The project is part of our regional programme, in which we work with partners in Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua to implement projects related to the same issue in a way that is adapted to the context and make the expertise of all organisations mutually accessible. Our regional coordinator advises the partner organisations, pools the experience gained, and shares it with us and our partners at regional meetings.

Kleinbauernfamilie in Guatemala

Préserver la nature et soutenir les familles de paysans

Exploitation durable de la terre dans le bassin versant du Rio Quiscab

Préserver la nature et soutenir les familles de paysans: exploitation durable de la terre dans le bassin versant du Rio Quiscab



Bassin versant du Rio Quiscab, Haut-plateau d’Atitlán, département de Sololá, Guatemala, qui s’étend sur les communes politiques de Sololá, Santa Lucía Utatlán, San José Chacayá, Nahualá et Barreneché de Totoni-capán

Gestion durable des ressources en eau et agricoles, protection des ressources naturelles, responsabilisation

Direct: 500 familles paysannes et 50 représentant(e)s des communes.

Indirect: 110 000 autres habitant(e)s de la région.

 

Asociación Vivamos Mejor Guatemala, Panajachel, Guatemala

Les coûts de projet s'élèvent à CHF 726 056. Apports et contributions locales ne sont pas compris dans les coûts totaux.

2021-2023

Contexte du projet

La population rurale indigène du bassin versant du Rio Quiscab, département de Sololá vit en autarcie principalement grâce à l'agriculture de subsistance. 70% de ces familles sont pauvres. Les ressources naturelles - l'eau, la forêt et les sols - sont surexploitées par les petits paysans. En raison de récoltes toujours plus maigres, beaucoup sont amenés à brûler des parcelles de forêt, mais ces terres défrichées ne fournissent de bonnes récoltes que durant quelques années. L'indispensable couche supérieure de la terre, devenue trop fragile en raison de l'érosion, est arrachée des versants abrupts et emportée vers les rivières et le lac Atitlán, la plus grande réserve d'eau douce d'Amérique centrale, dont la qualité de l'eau est ainsi affectée. De plus, les agriculteurs luttent contre la sécheresse croissante causée par le changement climatique.

Notre approche

Nous aidons les paysans à adapter leurs modes de culture à des pratiques durables tout en améliorant leurs récoltes. Ils se familiarisent à des méthodes agricoles durables mais plus efficaces, ainsi qu'à l'apiculture et à la culture des champignons, qui leur permettent de générer des revenus et de préserver les forêts. Nous sensibilisons aussi une grande partie de la population à la protection des ressources et élaborons avec les autorités un plan cadre d'utilisation des terres.

Objectifs du projet

Les familles de paysans du bassin versant du Rio Quiscab sont en mesure d'utiliser leurs ressources naturelles de manière durable.

  • La population bénéficiaire est sensibilisée à la protection de l'environnement et des ressources et connait les solutions et stratégies pour le bassin versant du Rio Quiscab
  • Les familles de paysans utilisent les ressources naturelles (terres arables, forêt, eau et pâturages) de manière durable
  • Les familles génèrent un nouveau revenu grâce à l'apiculture et la culture de champignons

Approche régionale

Le projet fait partie de notre programme régional, dans le cadre duquel nous mettons en œuvre des projets dans la même thématique avec des partenaires au Guatemala, Honduras et Nicaragua, de manière adaptée au contexte et en rendant l'expertise des organisations accessible réciproquement. Notre coordinateur régional conseille les organisations, compile l'expérience acquise et la partage avec nous et nos partenaires lors de réunions régionales.